INFRASTRUCTURE CANADA (SPORTPLEX)

News release

Neguac residents to benefit from important upgrades to the Neguac Sportplex

Neguac, New Brunswick, April 16, 2021—The health and safety of Canadians are top priorities for all levels of government. Communities across Canada are on the frontlines of the COVID-19 pandemic, and need immediate assistance to ensure their public infrastructure is safe and reliable.

Today, Pat Finnigan, Member of Parliament for Miramichi–Grand Lake, on behalf of the Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities, and His Worship Georges R. Savoie, Mayor of the Municipality of Neguac, announced funding for important upgrades to the Neguac Sportplex.

The project consists of major renovations to the Sportplex including a new roof membrane, and insulation in exterior walls. Additionally, all doors of the Sportplex will be replaced, and the electrical and alarm systems will be upgraded.  Further, a new ventilator system will be installed. These significant upgrades will give residents of Neguac and surrounding areas access to a modernized facility where they can enjoy recreational activities for years to come.  

The Government of Canada is investing more than $1.1 million dollars towards this project through the COVID-19 Resilience Stream of the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program. The Municipality of Neguac and neighbouring communities are contributing the balance of $280,000.

Quotes

“Today’s announcement is welcomed news for the residents of Neguac. With these renovations, the Sportplex will be a modern and well maintained facility where residents can meet up and enjoy physical activities together. The Government of Canada understands the importance of investing in our communities, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic. Projects like these will help create stronger, more resilient communities from coast to coast to coast.”

Pat Finnigan, Member of Parliament for Miramichi–Grand Lake, on behalf of the Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities

“Today’s federal government announcement is important for maintaining our regional arena  in good condition and will allow people of all ages to practice sports and stay active.”

His Worship Georges R. Savoie, Mayor of the Municipality of Neguac

Quick facts

  • Through the Investing in Canada infrastructure plan, the Government of Canada is investing more than $180 billion over 12 years in public transit projects, green infrastructure, social infrastructure, trade and transportation routes, and Canada’s rural and northern communities.
  • To support Canadians and communities during the COVID-19 pandemic, a COVID-19 Resilience Stream has been added to the over $33-billion Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program to help fund pandemic-resilient infrastructure. Existing program streams have also been adapted to include more eligible project categories.
  • Under the COVID-19 Resilience Stream, the federal cost share for public infrastructure projects is 80 per cent in the provinces, and 100 per cent in the territories and for projects intended for Indigenous communities.
  • The Government of Canada has invested over $557 million in 308 infrastructure projects across New Brunswick under the Investing in Canada plan.

INFRASTRUCTURE CANADA (SPORTPLEX)

Communiqué

Les résidents de Neguac bénéficieront d’importantes améliorations au Sportplex de Neguac

Neguac (Nouveau-Brunswick), 16 avril 2021—La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens sont des priorités absolues pour tous les ordres de gouvernement. Les collectivités du Canada sont aux premières lignes de la pandémie de COVID-19 et ont besoin d’une aide immédiate pour assurer la sécurité et la fiabilité de leurs infrastructures publiques.

Aujourd’hui, Pat Finnigan, député de Miramichi–Grand Lake, au nom de l’honorable Catherine McKenna, ministre de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités, et Georges R. Savoie, maire de la Municipalité de Neguac, ont annoncé le financement d’importants travaux visant à améliorer le Sportplex de Neguac.

Le projet consiste à effectuer d’importants travaux de rénovation au Sportplex, ce qui comprend l’installation d’une nouvelle membrane de toit et l’isolation des murs extérieurs. De plus, toutes les portes du Sportplex seront remplacées, les systèmes électriques et d’alarme seront améliorés, et un nouveau système de ventilation sera installé. Ces importantes améliorations permettront aux résidents de Neguac et des environs d’avoir accès à des installations modernes où ils pourront pratiquer des activités de loisirs pendant de nombreuses années.

Le gouvernement du Canada investit plus de 1,1 million de dollars dans ce projet dans le cadre du volet Résilience à la COVID-19 du Programme d’infrastructure Investir dans le Canada. La Municipalité de Neguac et les collectivités voisines fourniront le reste du financement, soit 280 000 $.

Citations

« L’annonce d’aujourd’hui est une bonne nouvelle pour les résidents de Neguac. Grâce à ces rénovations, le Sportplex sera une installation moderne et bien entretenue où les résidents pourront se retrouver et pratiquer ensemble des activités physiques. Le gouvernement du Canada comprend qu’il est important d’investir dans nos collectivités, surtout pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Des projets comme ceux-ci aideront à créer des collectivités plus fortes et plus résilientes d’un océan à l’autre. »

Pat Finnigan, député de Miramichi–Grand Lake, au nom de l’honorable Catherine McKenna, ministre de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités

« L’annonce du gouvernement fédéral d’aujourd’hui est importante pour maintenir notre aréna régional fonctionnel et permettre à de nombreuses personnes jeunes et plus âgées de pratiquer un sport et de se maintenir en meilleure santé. »

Georges R. Savoie, maire de la Municipalité de Neguac

Faits en bref

  • Dans le cadre du plan d’infrastructure Investir dans le Canada, le gouvernement du Canada investit plus de 180 milliards de dollars sur 12 ans dans des projets visant le transport en commun, les infrastructures vertes, les infrastructures sociales, les routes de commerce et de transport, ainsi que les collectivités rurales et nordiques du Canada.
  • Afin de soutenir les Canadiens et les collectivités pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, un volet Résilience à la COVID-19 a été ajouté au Programme d’infrastructure Investir dans le Canada de plus de 33 milliards de dollars pour aider à financer des infrastructures résilientes aux pandémies. On a également adapté les volets existants du programme afin d’y inclure davantage de catégories de projets admissibles.
  • Dans le cadre du volet Résilience à la COVID-19, la part des coûts des projets d’infrastructure publique assumée par le fédéral est de 80 % dans les provinces et de 100 % dans les territoires et pour les projets destinés aux collectivités autochtones.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada a investi plus de 557 millions de dollars dans 308 projets d’infrastructure au Nouveau-Brunswick dans le cadre du plan Investir dans le Canada.